Environment Committee

This committee is responsible for the development and maintenance of the Fryer Field area. The facilities include football pitches (adults and children), an artificial grass 5-a-side football pitch, tennis courts, basketball court, children’s play area, outdoor gym equipment, skate park and the pavilion. A second children’s play area is located adjacent to Oakhurst First School.

The committee also oversees the management of the allotments located at Gulliver’s Farm, the public toilets and car park at Park Way and the West Moors Cemetery located in Priory Road. The Council office maintains the burial register and handles the day-to-day administration.
The committee also deals with any matters relating to street furniture such as benches and a few Council owned bus shelters, as well as representing the views of residents who raise concerns about highway matters, such as speeding, parking, street lighting and road safety. In many of these areas close co-operation with Dorset Council is vital as they are the authority responsible for road maintenance, parking, public footpaths and maintenance of grass verges. The committee advises Dorset Council on footpaths and rights of way issues as they impact on our town. The committee also liaises with the relevant authorities who deal with flooding issues. Finally, the committee oversees the festive decorations.

The meeting is held at the Council Pavilion, Fryer Field, starting 7.30pm, and is open to members of the public, who will get 3 minutes to speak each, 10 minutes total.
You can find details of the committee members, agendas, reports and minutes of the West Moors Town Council Environment Committee meetings, under Council/Agenda/Minutes

Notices and agendas of all meetings are posted on the 4 notice boards, 3 clear working days before the meeting date, which are situated at Pinehurst Road outside the parade of shops, on Woolslope Road, on Station Road outside Holly Court and outside West Moors Middle School on Heathfield Road.


Cllr Mrs Carol Holmes -Chair
Cllr Mike Hawkes - Vice Chair
Cllr Mrs Rita Burke
Cllr David Green 
Cllr Jordan Randall
Cllr Trevor Salt
Cllr David Shortell
Cllr Mrs Penny Yeo
Cllr Jim Staig